Secrets of the Wicked Muse Tavern

Welcome to the Wicked Muse Tavern and the Howloween Blog Hop

Howloween Blog Hop

Approaching the door of the Wicked Muse I glance down at the email still queued up on my phone. Leave the rest to him, my ass. When I sat down to write last night not only was my wicked muse, Lucien, missing but most of my characters as well. Those published and non-published as well. So after sitting there staring at the blinking cursor on my computer screen for what felt like a million years it finally dawned on me to check at his new “home” to get some information.

If he had kidnapped my characters from Untamed Hawaiian Heat when I needed them to finish my revisions he was going to be really sorry.

I shoved open the door (no easy feat since I suspected it was made of solid oak as heavy as it was) and stepped over the threshold. I froze. Do I have the wrong place? The interior of the building is a flurry of activity. Chairs and tables were being moved around. Floors, walls and bar were being wiped down.

I stick my head out the door and glance at the placard hanging over it. The Wicked Muse Taven. Yep I’m in the right place. I shake the sense of deja vu off and step back inside. Looking around I can’t find Lucien anywhere. So I decide to try and find Master Arthur or Seraphina. Maybe one of them knew what the hell their boss was up to.

There was no one at the bar. So Master Arthur must be in the kitchen. Recalling the last time I was here I decide to steer clear of there unless I absolutely have to. He didn’t seem to like people going into his kitchen.

Noticing a woman with long black hair wiping down a table near the window I head over there. I tap Seraphina on the shoulder to get her attention.

She turned around and gave me a hug. “Oh, I was wondering when you would be stopping in.”

“Willa?” I ask unable to keep the confusion out of my voice.

Stepping back from me she smiled. “Of course it’s Willa. You didn’t think I’d miss the chance to come hang out with you. Especially after Lucien explained what this place was,” Willa said waving her hand to indicate the Tavern.

“Right. Um… Have you seen Lucien anywhere? I really need to talk to him.” I couldn’t believe he’d explained about this place to my characters before he’d let me in on the secret. At least not all of it. I scan the people moving around trying to find my wicked muse. I needed answers and he was the only one who could give them to me.

I spy Keenan and Schyler joking with each other as they move another table to the side with the help of Alex Barrett from Branded Hearts. How heavy were those freakin’ tables?

How many of my other characters were here?

I hear a little commotion behind the bar decide I better investigate. “It’s great to see you, Willa. I’ll catch up with you later.” I force myself to take my leave despite the fact that I would really like to hear how things were going with her, Kee and Schy since I’d finished writing Falling Star.

I edge around the bar to find The Bruce licking from a small puddle on the floor. I bit my lip to keep from laughing when I catch sight of the bottle of Macallen held in the hands of none other than Lucien.

“Get on with ye, wee beastie. Stay out of my whiskey,” he says as he straightens up and meets my eyes. “Dinnae ye be startin’ to, mo drùiseil sgrìobhadair. I’ve heard enough from that she witch, Seraphina, about that…that…thing.” He pointed to the dog who was now happily staring up at Lucien and wagging his tail.

Choking back a laugh, I decide to give him a break. Clearing my throat I hold up my phone so he can see the email I’d come to ask him about. “I came to ask what the hell this is.”

***

Ferreting out secrets can be so much fun and at the same time frustrating. So, what do you think the secret of the Tavern is? And what have I come to ask Lucien about? Let me know what your ideas are in a comment and follow The Wicked Muse Tavern for a chance to win a copy of “Falling Star” or “Branded Hearts”. Don’t forget to check back tomorrow to receive another clue about the Tavern and my secret email.

2 comments on “Secrets of the Wicked Muse Tavern

  1. laurie g says:

    i have never read any of your books but i did enjoy looking around your blog today! great giveaway

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  2. Shadow says:

    Happy Halloween!! Thank you so much for the awesome hop and giveaway! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

