Secrets of the Wicked Muse Tavern Part 2: The Invitation

Welcome to the Wicked Muse Tavern and the Howloween Blog Hop!

Howloween Blog Hop

Click on the image above to return to the Howloween Blog Hop event page.

“It’s an invitation, lass,” Lucien says amusement evident in his tone.

Sighing I look at it one last time before locking my phone. “I’m well aware that it’s an invitation. What I’m wondering is why you’re throwing a ball when I need to focus?”

Lucien puts his hand on my shoulder. “Take a deep breath, Ms. MacLean. I decided to throw a ball so everyone can get to know you and all of the wonderful people you write about.” He lets go of me, grabs a glass from the shelf behind him and pours some of his whiskey into it. “Here you look like you need this. I heard about the commotion at your house today. Now about the ball.”

“But—”

He laid his finger against my lips. “I’ve already spoken with a number of your characters and they’ve agreed to help transform the Tavern into a suitable place to hold it. And a few more than that have agreed to come and say hello.”

“What am I supposed to do until then?”

Raising an eyebrow he says, “Do ye really think I would steal away the people you need to get some work done?” He grins. “Well not yet anyway. I’ll need to borrow a couple of yer Rift Hunters to add a couple of finishin’ touches, but that won’t be until Samhain.”

Looking around the tavern at the people bustling about cleaning up and moving furniture I realize that none of the men or women from Untamed Hawaiian Heat are present. So what the hell am I doing here? I take one last sip of the whiskey Lucien gave me (a small gift on his part since he normally won’t share his beloved Macallen with anyone).  After the liquor settles in my stomach I take a deep breath, calmness I hadn’t been feeling all day settling over my frazzled nerves. Fortified with the knowledge that my characters haven’t abandoned me to help Lucien out. Although I’m still not sure what he means by having the Rift Hunters add some “finishing touches”.

How much more decorating could he possibly have to do? The Tavern is already spotless…remembering what I’d seen upon rounding the bar I look down to find The Bruce curled around my foot…well almost spotless.

I better check back in tomorrow. Just to make sure things aren’t going to get out of hand. In the back of my mind I remember a scene where a certain wicked muse was holding conference with some other muses. Deciding it best I shake my head. I really don’t want to go there.

***

So what do you do to get ready for hosting a big party? Don’t forget to follow the Tavern for a chance to win a copy of “Falling Star” or “Branded Hearts”.

 

4 comments on “Secrets of the Wicked Muse Tavern Part 2: The Invitation

  1. Kristina Haecker says:

    Great excerpt! 🙂 Thanks for the giveaway!
    kristinaleigh1@hotmail.com

  2. Cassandra Hicks says:

    I have personally never hosted my own party. Too much trouble to me. Doesn’t mean I don’t like attending them lol
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    cassandrahicks1989@yahoo.com

  3. Iris P. says:

    I’m Latin, so when we host parties there’s lots and lots of cooking involved. lol

    purple975@msn.com

  4. Shadow says:

    Happy Halloween!! Thank you so much for the awesome hop and giveaway! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

