Interview with V.S. Nelson’s Sekhmet’s Guardians

I glance around the rich masculine furnishings in Lucien’s office and wonder what he does in here for hours on end. I couldn’t find him this morning to ask if I could use it, but decided to go ahead without his permission. I think the comfortable atmosphere will be perfect while I interview the Sekhmet’s Guardians from V.S. Nelson’s series.

Knock. Knock.

Seraphina: Shay, you have some…um visitors. They say you’re expecting them.

Shay: Let them in, Seraphina.

(I swallow and try to catch my breath as seven of the most delectable men I have ever seen walk into Lucien’s study.)

Shay: Seraphina, please bring in a bottle of Lucien’s finest Macallan and eight glasses. Thank you.

Seraphina: (raises eyebrow) Are you sure about that? Lucien doesn’t like it when we get into his stash.

Shay: I’ll worry about Lucien.

(I return my attention to the men who stand waiting for me to take my seat as Seraphina heads back to the bar. I was previously told by author V.S. Nelson that one or more of Sekhmet’s Guardians would be showing up today to be interviewed but never in my life did I expect to meet all seven. The raven haired one who is the largest of them all holds out his hand to me.)

Gabe: Hi, I’m Gabriel. I think you were expecting me. I hope you are OK with the fact I brought my brethren along with me. We were on our way across town and I thought you might like to meet them. If you object or they make you feel uncomfortable, they can always wait out outside or in Escalades.

Shay: They can stay.

(Gabriel turns his head around and nods at the others who immediately take a seat on the two couches. Gabriel sits in the chair across from my desk. Its obvious to me Gabriel, has some authority over the others.)

Shay: So Gabriel, why do you start off by introducing the others to me then tell me a little about yourself. I’m extremely interested in learning how you and author V.S. Nelson got together.

Gabe: Moving from your right to left, the guy wearing the black Stetson is Raphael.

(Raphael puts two fingers on the rim of his hat and nods)

That sandy haired surfer looking dude next to him is Arial. He runs our Los Angeles office where he spends most of his time glorifying that tan of his on the beaches of California.  Sitting on the end of that couch, next to Arial is Michael, our physician.

(Both men smile and nod at me when they are introduced but say nothing)

Sitting on the next couch with the blond ponytail is Lance, my kid brother. He doesn’t see a lot of action these days as he is our voice and ears in the field. In other words, he runs our computer control center. In the center is Raziel who runs our office in Cairo and on the end is Thomas. Although, Thomas is very active in our local operations, you can usually find him at one of the many night clubs he owns and operates.

(Gabe turns back around and faces me directly)

I thought it was high time the world we live in knew more about us and our operations so I began looking for a qualified author to tell our story. I stumbled upon Ms. Nelson for the first time when she was teaching in Egypt and I was visiting Raziel. She wasn’t particularly interested in what I had to tell her in the beginning, so I decided to wait until she retired. Using the gifts, we all possess, I grabbed her attention by entering her dreams at night. It took her a while, but finally she started paying attention to me. I think at first she thought if she wrote down what I showed her I would go away and leave her alone. My nightly visits intensified and I spent hours upon hours explaining who and what we are. I am my brethren had a story to tell and knew she was the one to tell it.

Shay: So what is the truth behind your story, really? Can you tell my readers who and what you are? What did you show her?

Gabe: In the beginning, I didn’t show or tell a whole lot to V because I knew she would need some time to get to know all of us before she accepted what we really are. Knowing she is a history buff and teacher I laid out the facts that we arrived in ancient Egypt through a portal between our home world, New Tuat and yours. It wasn’t until much later, I revealed what Sekhmet granted us when we arrived in Memphis—immortality and the fact that we require human blood to sustain our existence here on Earth.

(I glance out the window to my right and I immediately think Gabe is pulling one over on me… after all its daylight.)

Shay: That almost sounds like you are telling me all of you are vampires.

Gabe: In a round about way, yes. As I mentioned we do require human blood to survive here on Earth but that is the only common thing we share with your Hollywood version of the vamp. All of us have a heart that beats and a soul. We eat and drink just like you do and we have no problem being out in daylight hours. Although, our society calls us the Ancients, we would prefer to be called Immortal Aliens, since we came from another world.

(Seraphina enters quietly and fills the glasses and hands them out before leaving again.)

Shay: I see. So why are you here?

Gabe: We are here to protect the human race from an evil that escaped our world. Unlike us, Set’s Legions have little regard for the human race. If it was up to them they would turn the Earth into their own private feeding ground.

(I take a couple of minutes to absorb what he has told me. They all seem so… normal.)

Shay: So what has all this got to do with a book entitled ETERNAL LOVERS?

Gabe: I wondered when you would get around to the books… Eternal Lovers is a multi-plotted, cross genre’, paranormal romance. You see, we were content to stay in the shadows of your society while we continued on with what we were doing – tracking down Set’s followers, until I met a petite Native American woman by the name of Jennifer. In reality, book one of our story, is actually Jennifer’s story. That is when all of our lives started to change. I don’t want to tell you too much and spoil all of the surprises in the book but I will tell you that I became instantly obsessed with her. As it turned out, Jennifer had a few secrets of her own—even she didn’t know about. You see, Jennifer is actually half Selkie. If you are unfamiliar with that term, she is a shape shifter. We also discovered that Jennifer is the reincarnation of the Egyptian woman I lost close to five thousand years ago. I think now you can see why I said Eternal Lovers is a cross genre’ paranormal romance. It is a story like no other which includes the tales of our kind, her kind, ancient Egyptian mythology, Native American lore, magic, reincarnation, love and sacrifice.

Shay: Sounds like a lot of ground to cover in one book.

Gabe: In reality, Eternal Lovers is just the beginning of an eleven book series. Book Two of Sekhmet’s Guardians, ETERNAL NIGHTS, continues on with our story focusing on Raphael and Jessica, Jennifer’s sister. Eternal Nights is due out in May of this year followed by book three, Eternal Blades, Lance and Tshering Snow’s story, in December.

(Just as Gabe finishes his sentence Lance and Raphael lean forward and share a high five with each other.)

Shay: An eleven book series? Wow, that’s a lot of writing. Are you sure Virginia will be able to get them all completed?

Gabe: V has finished the first four books of the series and as laid out the plans for books 5-11. She is a fast typist and is dedicated to sharing our story with the world. There is no doubt in my mind she will complete the task I have given her.

Shay: So what can you tell me about Virginia? What is she like?

Gabe: Needless to say we did a background check on her long before I made myself known to her. She spent several years in Egypt and the Middle East teaching after she retired from a university in New Mexico. She now lives in Mesa, Arizona with the love of her life, a few birds and a tank full of fish. I chose her for several reasons–one of them being, her love for history, the unexplained and the occult. Being a Native American herself didn’t hurt either. She spends most six days a week on her computer delivering the stories we all share with her. Sundays she devotes to family and friends. The days she isn’t at home you can usually find her at a RWA meeting, delivering a workshop or meeting with her critique partners at a local Starbucks. She is also a coffee addict.

Shay: Did you by chance bring a snippet or two of Eternal Lovers? I’m sure my readers would be interested in being enticed by her writing.

Gabe: I sure did.

Gabe pulls out a book from the pocket of his black trench coat and begins to read…

cover Med

They stepped out of the large shower enclosure and Jennifer wrapped a bath sheet around her little body. Gabriel started to dry off as Jennifer grabbed another towel and wrapped up her long mahogany hair. Standing in front of the mirror, brushing her teeth, her back was to him. Leaning against the wall, he watched her every move. He noticed she had some tiny marks on the back of her neck that he had never seen before. He asked her what the marks were.

“It’s just a birthmark, I was born with it.”

He came up beside her and kissed the side of her neck trying to get a better look at the marks. She wrinkled her shoulders up because his kiss tickled her.

“Hold still, I want to see your neck.”

Were his eyes deceiving him? No, there just below her hairline, on the back of her neck, was a golden outline of a cartouche lying sideways. Inside the cartouche were three tiny hieroglyphs; a bird, a filled in circle and another bird. Together the hieroglyphics spelled out the name, Akhakh, the name of the woman he loved so long ago.

All of a sudden, everything made sense to him, his reaction to her the first time he was in her presence; his continual need to be with her, his need to protect her, and his undying love for her. She had finally returned just as the Goddess had told him she would. Jennifer and Akhakh were one in the same. He turned her around to face him. A single tear fell from his watery eyes.

“Jennifer, I have longed for you for so long. You have replaced my cold, empty heart with joy and happiness. I can’t bear the thought of losing you again.”

She looked up at him with loving concerned eyes. “Honey what is it? What brought this on?”

“Jennifer, you said you read past lives. Do you not know your own?”

“No, I’ve never been able to see into my own past. Why?”

He took her over to the small loveseat that sat on the wall opposite of the dresser. Sitting down beside her, he took hold of her hand.

“Remember when we where at the park and I told you that I had loved once before?”

She nodded and said she remembered.

“I never told you her name, did I?”

“No, and I thought better than to ask. I could tell that it hurt you to talk about it.”

“Her name was Akhakh… Those marks on the back of your neck, you said you were born with them… Honey, they are not just a birthmark. Your birthmark is a cartouche. The ancient Egyptians, those that were born of noble birth enclosed their names in them. There are small symbols inside the cartouche on the back of your neck. Honey, those symbols… those hieroglyphs on your neck spell out Akhakh.  Jennifer, I believe you are Akhakh reincarnated. You are one in the same.”

“Gabriel, I don’t understand. Why wouldn’t I remember?”

“Perhaps it is best you don’t… Her life came to a terrible end by the hand of our enemy. I wouldn’t want you to remember that horror. I just wanted you to know. I thought that I would never love another after I lost Akhakh. Of course, my name wasn’t Gabriel then, it was Netchkhet, as you already know. The man who was Netchkhet died when Akhakh did. I grew cold, bitter and hateful. Gabriel was soon born from that hatred and he lived a long empty existence until you came into my life. As I grew to love you more each day, the hatred I had in my heart vanished as if it had never been there. Jennifer, it doesn’t matter that you may have been her in a past life. It is you I love, now and for all eternity.”

There was no loneliness in his heart, for his heart was full of joy and love. The picture within his heart, the one holding the key to his happiness, was a picture of her, just as she is today, Jennifer, not Akhakh.

(Lance, the blond with the pony tailed answers a call on his cell phone then moves up to Gabriel and whispers something in his ear. Gabe nods, closes the book.)

Gabe: Shay, I’m sorry to cut this short but we have to roll. A report just came in that a group of Set’s Legions have been spotted across town.

Shay: I understand. Thank you for sharing your story with us. It was a pleasure to meet all of you.

(Gabe nods turns and joins the others as they exit the room.)

me

If you would like to know more about the author, V.S. Nelson and her books please visit her website http://www.authorvsnelson.com

Eternal Lovers is available in paperback, large print and kindle formats, world wide through Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00AXYLHF0

12 comments on “Interview with V.S. Nelson’s Sekhmet’s Guardians

  1. That…is a perfectly BRILLIANT interview! Original, and masterfully done. 🙂 Boy, did you just give me some ideas….nice!

  2. […] Interview with V.S. Nelson’s Sekhmet’s Guardians. […]

  3. V.S.Nelson says:

    Thank you Cindy and Thomas. It was fun having all of them there at once. V

  4. Jenna Roads says:

    Wow, what a great interview. This was way cool!

  5. laramcgill says:

    Thanks, V, for letting me know about the interview. It was fabulous – and as soon as I get another paycheck, I’m picking up your first book for my Kindle.

    You and I really should get together and chat. Supposedly, according to my grandmother, I’m part Tuscarora, Creek and Cherokee. I’m also a coffee addict. My writing partner and I live in Starbucks on Wednesdays and Sundays. You already know about the Egypt connection.

    Happy writing!

  6. Noemi says:

    A fun interview with some sexy immortals. Looking forward to the series!

  7. Great interview, Virginia. Really spellbinding. I imagine it was definitely fun having all of them there at one time, they sound like a fascinating (and very sexy!) group of individuals.

  8. kellyandria says:

    great interview loved it! Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

