My Wicked Muse by Rachell Nichole

Hi folks,

Thanks so much for having me.

In light of the title of this blog, The Wicked Muse Tavern, I figured I would come by and chat with you today about muses, and how wicked, or delightful they can be. For the most part, my Muse is a wicked one. This can be good and bad. Here’s are the top three reasons why she is wicked and awesome at the same time.

  1. Giving me ideas right before I go to bed. It’s equal parts awesome and frustrating. Awesome because I love ideas, especially if I’ve reached a part in a story where I feel stuck. But, Muse lady, your timing SUCKS! I have to get out of my warm comfy bed, turn on a blaringly bright light and scribble some nonsense on paper. Heaven forbid it be an AMAZING idea and I can’t just write it down and go to sleep, but I have to actually get up, get the laptop, and spend the next two hours working on this wonderful idea you’ve given me instead of sleeping! This is what happened to me with my latest release, Queen of Hearts. I was already in the middle of another WIP and thinking about that before bed one day and then WHAM over the head I’m struck with this idea for a Valentine’s Day story. I started furiously scribbling notes. My Muse was extra sweet and wicked that month – 3 new book ideas while I was still actively working on a novel. Sometimes her timing is terrible.
  2. Giving me ideas in the shower is WORSE than in bed – because I’m soaking wet, towelless, paperless, and penless! It’s infuriating!
  3. Giving me ideas while I’m driving. This is the least wicked of them all because I can just call my home and leave a message on the answering machine, which then makes my family laugh at me for my crazy writer antics J

 

But the Muse is never worse or more wicked than when she deserts me! Then, I have to coax her out of hiding. This is what I like to call bribing the Muse. Now how does one go about bribing a Muse, you ask, well, let me tell you:

  1. Write something frivolous, completely unrelated to any WIPs and usually from a writing prompt. Doing this allows me to think creatively about new things. Some of my best, funniest writing has come from prompts or assignments from writing workshops or classes. Sometimes it doesn’t help me get unstuck with a WIP problem right that second, but it helps me feel better, and it placates that fickle creature we call the Muse.
  2. Read a good book. When I really just cannot get anywhere in a book, I go read someone else’s genius. This always helps. Even when I hate to stop reading a good book, I often get inspiration and go back to my WIP immediately.
  3. Physical activity. It can be a load of dishes, a walk around the block, an hour of yoga, cleaning my ever-ridiculously-messy desk or shopping. Something that gets me away from the computer, away from the WIP, and into a different headspace. I consciously don’t think about the WIP, and inevitably when I come back to work, the Muse has been placated by a stroll or a new purse and I get back to work.
  4. Ignore her! This is a tricky reverse-psychology technique that I learned early on with my Muse. I ignore her and seek help elsewhere – usually by talking out the problems with someone else. Making their Muse work, and making mine jealous! It works every time. :-p

 

So there you have it – the ways my Muse is evil and the ways to give her a little nudge when she’s being a bitch.

For any writers out there – do you have any tricks or anecdotes to share about your Muses? Readers, any other suggestions for me?

Queen of Hearts proof coverThanks again for having me stop by to talk about my Muse and a bit about my latest release, Queen of Hearts which is a Valentine’s Day novella. Here’s the official blurb:

Maya Cobb is a classic Gemini. She’s adaptable, affectionate, versatile, cunning, and she holds a deep-seated fear of commitment. Which means she’s the perfect match for Aquarius Erica.

Erica Jones, also true to her astrological sign, is friendly, honest, loyal, fiercely independent,  and detached. She hasn’t found a satisfying relationship in ages, and is ready to give up on love, even though she runs a dating service.

After a one night stand, fate keeps throwing them together in the weeks leading up to Valentine’s Day. Maya offers to help Erica plan the Queen of Hearts Matchmaking event, though she doesn’t know much about dating women. Erica quickly realizes that while Maya bolted after their first night, she might be the only hope Erica has to save her business.

Astrology says they’re compatible, but neither woman can be sure.

 

Queen of Hearts is on sale now at these locations:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/VdWejF

Smashwords: http://bit.ly/YftYl9

Barnes & Noble : http://bit.ly/10cUqaU

All Romance Ebooks: http://bit.ly/XYumAN

Kobo – http://bit.ly/WHPiNo

 

~Rach

Leave a Reply

