Who Needs to Travel for Real, When You Can Do So by Imagination in Writing and Books!

By Sapphire Phelan

Reading is like traveling. You never know where you might go or end up. It’s all about the adventure.

 traveling

Same goes for writing. Even those who stick strictly to a synopsis may have to use a detour when a writer’s block or even their own characters put up a detour sign, so to speak. There are no possible pluses in writing, just like life or driving down a highway. Sometimes you just have to take chances.

travel

Which has happened to me in both writing and reading. But I learn something new and find things out I wouldn’t have if I’d been rigid.

 

My characters insist sometimes that what I thought was the right, sure way, isn’t always the case. That maybe I need to turn left or right, and head down a strange alleyway in my mind. I always get surprised with something my muse and my characters kept from me as the story enfolds in my head like a movie.  But then, even muses need to keep their secrets. At least, until the muse reveals them.

 

So whether a writer or just a reader, you don’t have to actually get in a car, plane, train or a ship and go somewhere. Working on works in progress or delving into a book/eBook can have your imagination journey to places, lands and worlds, all from a chair.  From pages of a book or an ereader, or words typed on your computer or tablet, or even ink flowing from a pen onto paper. It all comes from the mind, from the muse of imagination lay sleeping inside, until awaken.books

 

I’m just glad the voices in my head clamor. If they ever fell silent, I’ll never get to go anywhere. And honestly, that would be sad.

 

Writers, where have you traveled to in your WIPs? Readers, what books flew you to worlds you could never have imagined?

 

A blurb from The Witch And The Familiar where I traveled from a small town down to the depths of Hell and the realms of magic.

TheWitchandtheFamiliar Better

Mortal woman Tina discovers she is part of a prophesy that says she and Charun, her demon Familiar, must make love so she can become the witch she is fated to be. If she doesn’t do it and stop the demon army bringing Armageddon to the Mortal Realm on Halloween, she won’t stand a chance in Hell.

A year later, just when Tina and Charun thought it was all over and that their life would be normal—another prophesy pops up. If Lucifer snatches Tina and mates with her before the last chime before midnight of the new year and gets her pregnant with his son, that the real Armageddon would begin, spelling the end of life as they knew it. This time they get help from an archangel, Jacokb, but with demons, Lucifer, and a cute demon bunny with fangs out of a Monty Python nightmare, out to stop them and Heaven not lending a hand, will Tina this time lose the battle and become the mother of the Antichrist and the start of a new Hell on Earth?

 

Find The Witch And The Familiar at Phaze Books , BarnesandNoble.com and at  Amazon too.   For those in Uk, can find it at AmazonUK .

 

About Sapphire Phelan:

Sapphire Phelan has published erotic and sweet paranormal/fantasy/science fiction romance along with a couple of erotic horror stories. Her erotic urban fantasy, Being Familiar With a Witch is a Prism 2010 Awards winner and a Epic Awards 2010 finalist. The sequel to it is A Familiar Tangle With Hell, released June 2011 from Phaze Books, Both eBooks were combined into one print book, The Witch and the Familiar, and released April 24, 2012.

She admits she can always be found at her desk and on her computer, writing. And yes, the house, husband, and even the cats sometimes suffer for it!

Find out more about Sapphire Phelan at http://www.SapphirePhelan.com. Also like her Facebook, check out her Blog, and subscribe to her Newsletter .

 

12 comments on “Who Needs to Travel for Real, When You Can Do So by Imagination in Writing and Books!

  1. Thank you for letting me guest blog at the tavern today. 🙂

  2. Melissa Keir says:

    Sounds like a fun and wonderful read! I wish you all the best!

  3. I write historical as well as contemporary. For the historicals, I visit historical sites, so traveling is a great benefit for locations. In fact I wrote COLORADO SILVER, COLORADO GOLD which is set in Durango, Colorado in the 1880s becasue I really loved the city and the landscape when my family went through Duirango when I was a child. I always remembered the area and how beatiful I thought it was. I was fortunate that my family traveled back and forth across the country for vacations when I was a child. And I married an sailor so the Navy let us live in various parts of the US as well.

  4. Let’s see, in my deput book I went to the Bahamas. That was fun to write. In some of WIPs I’m either in a space ship or on another planet.

    I love writing up new adventures. It’s always exciting and new.

    Great post. I loved your excerpt.

    Janice~

  5. JT Bock says:

    Your book sounds like a lot of fun. Congratulations on your awards as well!

    About 10 years ago, I traveled to Tulum, the Mayan ruins, during a cruise. I was inspired by the ball court at Tulum where the Mayans had played one of their favorite games: the ullamaliztli. It’s similar to modern-day soccer and was played by both the Aztecs and Mayans. I always wanted to write about this experience and was able to incorporate this game in my latest book where my hero and heroine travel back in time and play this game to help save the world.

  6. Everyone’s places for the book sound super. Terry, I never ever gotten to Colorado and grew up out west too. Love how Durango inspired you as the spot for your books. It is always one of the best areas too. Love you got to see some Mayan ruins, JT–your book sounds cool–saving the world by playing a game. And Janice, the Bahamas. Yum.

  7. In my latest release, I got to “travel” back to New Orleans, where we lived for 18 years. Happy sigh. Only downside, the food was fictional. LOL

    Congrats on the release. I love fictional travel. No strip searches or nasty bathroom stops. LOL

  8. That is true, Pauline. I been to New Orleans back in ’88 for a world science fiction convention. Loved the town.

  9. When I was a teen I was totally immersed in the world of Dune. I dreamed about it. Then again while reading The Dark Tower series by King.

  10. C. K. Crouch says:

    I have my current WIP people in Arizona. I wrote a story set in Hawaii, and I even had a real estate agent send me some listings so I could create the condo my heroine lived in. I had an idea of what it looked like but seeing the places in pictures meant the one in my mind made sense.

  11. Dune was a good book. Not only did I read it, my husband and later, our son read it.

  12. Arizona not too much unlike some parts of Southern California–where I lived. And if ever do something set in Hawaii, the husband and I had a friend from Virginia who moved there long ago and sent some photos to my husband. He married a Hawaiian native (I mean someone whose ancestors lived there before the white man came).

Leave a Reply

